Our Board of Directors

The Fisher Funds Board of Directors is made up of five members who oversee the direction and strategy of Fisher Funds. The Board includes the following members:

David Clarke

David Clarke

Chairman & Director (Appointed January 2016)

Board Committees — Chairman of the Remuneration Committee, member of the Investment Strategy Committee and member of the Nominations Committee

David has over 35 years' experience in investment banking, funds management, property investment and retail banking where he developed a deep understanding of fiduciary duties to investors and risk considerations. Previous executive roles include Chief Executive of Investec Bank (Australia) Ltd, BT Financial Group, MLC Limited and Lloyds Merchant Bank. David is currently a non-executive director and Chairman of Charter Hall Group, Chairman of AUB Ltd, and was previously a non-executive director of AMP Ltd, and an executive director of Lend Lease Corporation Ltd. He also holds governance positions in medical, education and business support sectors for not-for-profit organisations.

Carmel Miringa Fisher

Carmel Miringa Fisher

BCA, CFIP of Auckland

Director (Appointed April 1998)

Board Committees – member of the Nominations Committee and member of the Investment Strategy Committee

Carmel is a seasoned investment professional with more than 30 years' experience in the New Zealand investment industry. She spent her early career in share broking before moving into the funds management industry as an investment analyst and portfolio manager. Carmel was responsible for managing New Zealand share funds for Prudential Assurance and then headed the funds management division of Sovereign Assurance before launching Fisher Funds in 1998. Carmel is an active member of the Fisher Funds investment committee and is also a director of Kingfish Ltd, Barramundi Ltd and Marlin Global Ltd.

Margaret Anne Blackburn

Margaret Anne Blackburn

BA, MA, MInstD of Auckland

Director (Appointed June 2013)

Board Committees — Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee, member of the Remuneration Committee and member of the Nominations Committee

Anne has a professional banking background, having had earlier careers in journalism and diplomacy. She is a director of businesses across the capital markets spectrum (with roles in venture investment, funds management, life insurance and banking). She also holds governance positions in arts, medical research and education not-for-profit organisations.

Jonathan Forbes McHardy

Jonathan Forbes McHardy

BCA, of Hawke's Bay

Director (Appointed March 2015)

Board Committees — Chairman of the Investment Strategy Committee, member of the Audit and Risk Committee and member of the Nominations Committee

Jonathan qualified with a Bachelor of Commerce in 1984 and worked in the New Zealand banking industry until 1997. His last position was Director of Wholesale Banking for the National Bank of New Zealand where he was responsible for all wholesale banking operations. In 1997 he joined Credit Suisse, working for that institution in London and New York until March 2015. In the years from 1997 to 2009 he was in the Investment Banking division where he held a variety of senior positions including co-Head of European Fixed Income and co-Head of Securities. In 2009 he moved to the Asset Management division to head up the Partner Asset Facility a debt/special situations fund. He also served on a number of investment committees for Credit Suisse funds and investment programs. Jonathan has recently returned to New Zealand and now acts as an adviser to Credit Suisse as well as a small number of other entities. He is on the board of a number of private New Zealand companies, including HRL Morrison & Co.

Edward F. Sippel

Edward F. Sippel

Director (Appointed August 2017)

Board Committees — member of the Audit and Risk Committee, member of the Remuneration Committee and member of the Nominations Committee

Ed is a Managing Director at TA Associates. He is Co-Head of Asia and manages the Hong Kong office which he opened in 2011. Ed has over 20 years of investment experience in deal sourcing, due diligence, structuring, and portfolio management. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of Yarra Capital Management (formerly Goldman Sachs Asset Management Australia) in Australia, SpeedCast Limited (ASX:SDA) in Hong Kong, Nintex in Australia/US, YeePay in China, and was formerly on the Board of Forgame Tech (HKSE:484) in China.

Previously, Ed was a Partner and Head of Asia at Quadrangle Capital Partners, a global private equity firm. Prior to that, he was a Managing Director and Partner at TVG Capital Partners and worked at The Asian Infrastructure Fund (“AIF”), private equity firms based in Hong Kong. Prior to moving to Asia in 1997, Ed worked at Morgan Stanley in New York.

Ed received a BA degree from Georgetown University.

Is there anything we
can help you with?